The diocese is named after the capital of Arunachal Pradesh. ARUNACHAL PRADESH known as the Land of the Rising Sun, situated in the north eastern part of India is nearly 84,000 sq. km in area and has a long international border with Bhutan to the west (160 km), China to the north and north-east (1,080 km) and Burma to the east (1,440 km).  It stretches from snow-capped mountains in the north to the plains of Brahmaputra valley in the south. Arunachal is the largest state area-wise in the north-east region, even larger than Assam which is the most populous. Isolation imposed by geography has led over twenty six major tribes with several dialects to live and

flourish with their distinct identities. Administratively, the State is divided into fifteen districts. Capital of the State is Itanagar in Papum Pare district (HQ- Yupia).  People from all walks of life live here in peace and harmony.

Diocese of Itanagar was erected by His Holiness, Pope Benedict the XVI on 7th December 2005. Till then it was the part of the Diocese of Tezpur, Assam. Diocese comprises of ten civil districts of West Arunachal Pradesh. Rt. Rev. John Thomas Kattrukudiyil who was the Bishop of Diphu in Assam was transferred to Itanagar as its first Bishop. His Lordship was installed as the first Bishop of this Diocese on 12th March 2006.

Dawn-lit mountains, lush green forests, gorgeous terrain, historic sites, wildlife sanctuaries, rivers, flowers, unique culture, peaceful co-existence of people of different tribe, faiths and a warm, friendly ambience make Itanagar Diocese unique. The Diocese of Itanagar is also blessed with the gifted leadership of the Bishop, dedicated service of the priests, the religious, and the deep-rooted faith of the laity.

          Copyright @ 2012, Itanagar Diocese
Best resolution in ie 1024x768